in Central Kalimantan, Indonesia

Biodiverse and Scalable Forest Restoration

Background

The project Biodiverse and scalable Forest Restoration in Central Kalimantan, Indonesia, is funded through the Bread for the World Foundation and implemented by Fairventures Worldwide under the umbrella program 1mTrees.

The goal of the 1mTrees program is to restore forest landscapes while creating new sources of income for local communities. Fast-growing timber species, such as Sengon (Paraserianthes falcataria), and other native species are lead crops to restore soils and site productivity. Until now, 740 smallholders have joined the program and planted trees on their degraded and unproductive land. The growing interest by local communities in the program is a delightful development, but also entails certain challenges.

To scale up biodiverse forest restoration, a dedicated international team works on the following three topics:

  1. Development of a digital infrastructure for data collection, analysis, storage, and provision
  2. Concepts for improved floral and faunal biodiversity
  3. Education for reforestation with local universities and for the public

Measuring and monitoring play a crucial role in the development of sustainable land use practices and are the precondition for dynamic learning and continuous advancement. As Fairventures Worldwide follows the so-called Value-Chain Approach, the demands of each stakeholder along the value chain can be addressed and thus be specifically satisfied. The responsible collection of field data on the reforestation fields contributes to a solid data basis, which will be made accessible to the involved parties with their particular data needs.

Hence, Fairventures Worldwide is developing a digital infrastructure to guarantee efficient data collection and storage, data analysis and data dissemination. To ensure a high data quality, every single tree will be included in the forest inventory. The individual smallholder will be responsible for data collection on his own field to strengthen their sense of ownership.

Technological advances on optical sensors, remote sensing, wireless networks and others will be harnessed to optimize data management by minimizing costs and maximizing efficiency. Field data such as tree height and diameter will be uploaded to a central web-based database, where timber volume is automatically calculated based on species-specific growth curves. A link to current market prices will empower smallholders by granting direct market access. The data is integrated in a central system to automatically notify logistics operations of harvesting activities and processing units and manufactures of incoming timber volumes and further specifications. Finally, the consumer will be able to scan a QR code on the final product and is provided with comprehensive information on the path of the product.

Hence, traceability of the products and 100 % transparency is guaranteed, furthermore contributing to ensure deforestation-free value chains and further social and environmental standards.

Biodiversity is the basis for life and therefore, unsustainable land use systems such as large-scale oil palm monocultures must be avoided. Not only for ethic reasons and human responsibility towards other living beings, but also to safeguard the provision of a wide range of ecosystem services the goal is to preserve high diversities of plants and animals.

In test fields on different sites within the project area, Fairventures Worldwide aims to research various species compositions, reflecting community demands and site characteristics. In agroforestry systems, five fast-growing native timber trees are intercropped with striped peanuts and other cash crops. The team will conduct regular monitoring of tree growth performance and crop yields and eventually evaluate the optimal planting design.

Furthermore, careful monitoring of wildlife on remaining forests patches, existing rubber plantations, degraded land and newly restored fields will be conducted using camera traps and other scientific methods. So far, small deer (Muntjaks) were found browsing on the recently planted seedlings, whereas their presence is delightful, the damage to the trees however a bit problematic.

Modern developments such as urbanization contribute towards the disconnection between people and their environment. In order to solve many of the environmental issues and to re-connect producers and consumers of natural products, it is crucial to conduct environmental education in school and for the public. Fairventures Worldwide is aiming to take a central role in the provision of information on the land use issues to people in Central Kalimantan.

Hence, Fairventures Worldwide has laid ground for cooperation with the local universities UPR and UNKRIP, and with the Borneo Orangutan Survival Foundation (BOSF). In a collective effort, demonstration fields are established in the vicinity to the provincial capital Palangkaraya to present Fairventures’ innovative solutions for degraded lands. Furthermore, training modules and research opportunities will be developed together and offered to local and international students.

Project Duration

06/2017-05/2020

Total Project Budget

1.180.000,-€

Project Partner

Yayasan Borneo Institute
Borneo Orangutan Survival Foundation
University of Palangkaraya
UNKRIP
Permakultur Kalimantan Foundation

Funded by

Zentral Kalimantan, Indonesien

Biodiverse und skalierbare Wiederaufforstung

Hintergrund

Das Projekt Biodiverse und skalierbare Wiederaufforstung in Zentral Kalimantan, Indonesien wird durch Brot für die Welt unterstützt und durch Fairventures Worldwide unter deren Programm 1mTrees umgesetzt.

Das Ziel des 1mTrees Programms ist es, Waldlandschaften wiederherzustellen und gleichzeitig neue Einkommensquellen für die lokale Bevölkerung zu entwickeln. Schnellwachsende Leichtholzbaumarten, wie beispielsweise Sengon (Paraserianthes falcataria) und andere heimische Arten, werden als Vorwald gepflanzt um zunächst die Bodenfruchtbarkeit und die Produktivität der Fläche wiederherzustellen. Bisher nehmen 740 Kleinbauern an dem Programm teil und pflanzen die Bäume auf ihren degradierten und unproduktiven Böden. Das enorm ansteigende Interesse der lokalen Gemeinden an diesem Programm ist eine erfreuliche Entwicklung, birgt aber doch auch einige Herausforderungen.

Um den Ansatz der artenreichen Wiederaufforstung zu skalieren arbeitet ein internationales Team an den drei Themen

  1. Entwicklung einer digitalen Infrastruktur zur Aufnahme, Analyse, Speicherung und Bereitstellung von Daten
  2. Konzepte für erhöhte Artenvielfalt von Flora und Fauna
  3. Bildung für Wiederaufforstung mit lokalen Universitäten und für die Öffentlichkeit

Zwei zentrale Komponenten in der Entwicklung von nachhaltigen Landnutzungsmodellen sind Measuring und Monitoring (zu deutsch etwa Vermessen und Überwachen), was eine Voraussetzung darstellt für dynamisches Lernen und stetige Verbesserung. Das Konzept von Fairventures Worldwide ist der sogenannte Wertschöpfungsketten- Ansatz. So können die Anforderungen aller Akteure entlang der Wertschöpfungskette berücksichtigt und zufriedengestellt werden. Die verantwortungsbewusste Aufnahme von Daten auf den Wiederaufforstungsflächen trägt dazu bei, dass eine solide Datenbasis aufgebaut wird, welche wiederum den jeweiligen beteiligten Gruppen zugänglich gemacht werden.

Fairventures Worldwide entwickelt daher eine digitale Infrastruktur, um eine effiziente Aufnahme, Speicherung, Analyse und Verteilung der Daten sicherzustellen. Um eine hohe Datenqualität sicherzustellen, soll jeder einzelne Baum jährlich vermessen werden. Der Kleinbauer oder die Kleinbäuerin wird für die Aufnahme der Daten auf dem eigenen Feld verantwortlich sein, um den Bezug zum Land weiter zu stärken.

Technologische Fortschritte in den Feldern optische Sensoren, Fernerkundung, kabellose Datenübertragung und weitere werden zukünftig genutzt, um das Datenmanagement zu optimieren, die Effizienz zu maximieren und Kosten zu minimieren. Felddaten wie Baumhöhe und Durchmesser werden in eine zentrale Onlinedatenbank geladen, wo das Holzvolumen dann automatisch berechnet wird basierend auf artspezifischen Wachstumskurven. Die Kopplung mit aktuellen Marktpreisen ermöglicht den Kleinbäuerinnen und Kleinbauern einen fairen Marktzugang und eine bessere Verhandlungsbasis. In der Art wie die Daten in das zentrale System integriert sind, können Holzernteunternehmen und Spedition automatisch über Erntepläne informiert werden, sowie die verarbeitende Industrie über zu erwartende Holzvolumina und weitere Details. Schließlich wird der Konsument, also der Käufer des Endprodukts, einen QR Code scannen und so umfassende Informationen über den Weg des Produkts erhalten.

Auf diese Weise wird eine klare Rückverfolgbarkeit durch 100 prozentige Transparenz gewährleistet, was zu abholzungsfreien Wertschöpfungsketten führt und hilft, weitere Sozial- und Umweltstandards sicherzustellen.

Eine breite Artenvielfalt ist die Grundlage für das Leben auf der Erde. Daher sollten nicht-nachhaltige Landnutzungsformen in großen Monokulturen vermieden werden. Nicht nur aus ethischen Gründen und aufgrund der Verantwortung des Menschen gegenüber anderen Lebewesen, sondern auch, um die Bereitstellung sämtlicher Ökosystemleistungen zu bewahren, ist das Ziel, eine möglichst hohe Vielfalt von Pflanzen und Tieren zu sichern.

In Testfeldern auf unterschiedlichen Standorten innerhalb des Projektgebietes untersucht Fairventures Worldwide verschiedene Pflanzkombinationen im Hinblick auf die Bedarfe der Lokalbevölkerung und der ökologischen Möglichkeiten. In Agroforstsystemen werden nun fünf schnellwachsende heimische Baumarten in Kombination mit Tigernüssen und anderen Feldfrüchten gepflanzt. Das Team führt regelmäßige Messungen des Baumwachstums und der Erntemengen durch, um das optimale Pflanzdesign zu ermitteln.

Außerdem wird ein umfassendes Wildtier- Monitoring in den übrigen Waldstücken und Kautschukplantagen, auf degradierten und neu aufgeforsteten Flächen durchgeführt. Dafür werden Kamerafallen verwendet und andere wissenschaftliche Methoden. Bisher wurden kleine Rehe (Muntjaks) gesehen, die sich an den jungen Bäumchen gütlich getan haben. Es ist schön, diese Tiere noch vorzufinden, der Schaden an den Pflanzungen ist jedoch etwas bedenklich.

Neuartige Entwicklungen, wie die Verstädterung, tragen zu einem Bruch zwischen Menschen und deren Umwelt bei. Um jedoch viele der heutigen Umweltprobleme zu lösen, und Konsumenten zu sensibilisieren, wo ihre Produkte eigentlich herkommen, ist es wichtig, Umweltbildung in Schulen und für die Öffentlichkeit durchzuführen. Fairventures Worldwide will eine zentrale Rolle einnehmen in der Bereitstellung von Informationen über Landnutzungsfragen für die Menschen in Zentral Kalimantan.

Daher hat Fairventures Worldwide nun Kooperationen mit den lokalen Universitäten UPR und UNKRIP, sowie mit der Borneo Orangutan Survival Foundation (BOSF) formalisiert. In gemeinsamen Aktivitäten werden Demonstrationsfelder in der Nähe der Provinzhauptstadt Palangkaraya angelegt, um Fairventures innovative Lösungen für degradierte Flächen zu zeigen. Außerdem werden Trainingsmodule entwickelt und Forschungsmöglichkeiten für lokale und internationale Studenten angeboten.

Projektlaufzeit

06/2017-05/2020

Gesamtprojektvolumen

1.180.000,-€

Projektpartner

Yayasan Borneo Institute
Borneo Orangutan Survival Foundation
Universität Palangkaraya
UNKRIP
Permakultur Kalimantan Foundation

Förderer des Projektes