Follow the Progress of 1 Million Trees

Discover the 1 Million Trees program via our interactive webmap:

Borneo is the largest Indonesian island and the third largest island in the world. Borneo is divided between Indonesia, Malaysia and Brunai, but Indonesia covers about 70% of the islands land mass. The Indonesian part is called Kalimantan and is organized in five provinces, the largest of which, Central Kalimantan, is our program area.
Natural integrity and rural livelihoods in Borneo are threatened by illegal logging, gold mining, and the expansion of monocultures like palm oil. Together with the local population we want to stop that.

Program Description

Large parts of rainforest were cut down in the rural areas of Central Kalimantan. The remaining forests are severely threatened by population pressure, legal and illegal logging and the ongoing expansion of palm oil plantations. In most of the deforested areas, soils are extremely degraded, as the thin layer of fertile soil has eroded and the natural nutrient cycling of the vegetation ceased. This is a major concern for rural communities, whose traditional livelihoods depend on forestry, slash and burn agriculture on small plots and limited sales of rubber and other cash crops from the rainforest. Only the sustainable and natural rehabilitation of infertile areas can help local communities to improve their livelihoods.

In cooperation with local communities, we are restoring the fertility of 1,000 hectares of deforested and strongly degraded soil in Central Kalimantan and reforesting these areas with mixed species systems. The technical term for this process is “Forest Landscape Restoration”. It is our goal to identify a close-to-nature land use system, which has benefits for people, the environment and climate at the same time. We are working together with smallholders, train and support them to establish fields with a mixture of fast-growing merchantable timber and nutritious vegetable plants. In all of these capacity building measures, we are mainstreaming gender equality. Since the farmers will plant these 1,000 hectares with one million trees in total, we have called our program 1m Trees (One Million Trees). Our ultimate goal is to provide an example for integrative and successful Forest Landscape Restoration and to develop methods and economic models that allow us and others to restore degraded lands on a large scale.

As an international development organization, we are integrating our projects with the international community’s targets in regard to human development, climate protection and reforestation. Our program is contributing to the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) of the United Nations, especially Goal 1 (Poverty reduction) and Goal 15 (Sustainable Forestry) among many others. 1m Trees also showcases, how “Forest Landscape Restoration” could look in practice: we are generating incomes for the local population and protect the environment and our climate simultaneously. Thus, together with Indonesian authorities we are contributing towards the commitments made by the international community under the Bonn Challenge – to reforest 350 million hectares of forest until 2030 – into practice. We are inspired by the Strategic Plan for Forests, adopted by the United Nations in April 2017, with the aim of a more sustainable handling of forests around the world.

  • Forest Landscape Restoration

We are supporting farmers to restore former forest areas that are barren and unproductive today. Farmers have the opportunity to participate in trainings and receive seedlings, enabling them to establish so-called multi-species agroforestry systems. Those are a combination of fast-growing valuable timber (e.g. Sengon), fruit trees and nutritious plants such as cassava, peanuts or vegetables. It is possible to replant areas with very low soil fertility through careful selection of the plant species, intense testing before planting and the use of organic fertilizers such as vermicompost. The replanting in turn stops erosion, restores water and nutrient cycles and mitigates climate change, as the growing trees absorb carbon from the air and thereby neutralize it. At the same time, farmers are able to produce food for their own consumption and timber and other cash crops for sale, improving their livelihoods.

  • Value Chain Approach

Through our cooperation with the farmers in Central Kalimantan we are covering the very beginning of the timber value chain. We are supporting the planting of fast-growing lightwood timber species that are finding uses in many sectors now instead of hard woods from natural forests. Thus, we are alleviating the pressure on the remaining natural forests by producing in the buffer zones around the existing forests. At the same time, we are supporting the Indonesian wood processing industry to develop new products based on lightwood and to market them, both nationally and internationally. Through these activities, we are making sure that the farmers in Kalimantan have market access and are thus enabled for fair benefit-sharing. We also support the Indonesian wood industry’s transformation process towards more sustainable business practices. European importers and traders are contributing to the program and allow us to replant each tree, that is sold here as a part of wood products. Hence, the circle is closed and we create an example for a modern, sustainable value chain.

  • Digitalization and Monitoring

Since the early days of the program, we emphasize transparency and strive to understand the efforts’ impacts in detail. Ever since we have put great importance to measuring and monitoring, have collected data on tree growth under different conditions and have documented exactly where, when and by whom the trees were planted. Thus, we are improving our understanding about the connections between soil, climate and planting combinations year by year. The interactive map displayed above is one prominent result of our work. At the moment, we are preparing a complete digitalization of the infrastructure of our monitoring. In the future, smallholders will be able to track tree growth and value of their trees digitally. With such a wealth of data, we strengthen all actors along the value chain, create a solid data basis for certification, public and private investment in reforestation and agriculture, and connect buyers and sellers of timber.

We will have planted the one million trees by 2018. Until then, we will be able to prove conclusively that our economic incentive schemes work and our planting combinations are ecologically sound. The next challenge will then be a wide-ranging scaling-up of our concepts.

Starting 2019, we will set ourselves a new goal: 100 million trees in diverse, but not too complex planting combinations. We are fully aware that an expansion on this scale will be an enormous challenge. We are convinced that it is possible, given that the following prerequisites are fulfilled:

  • We have designed and implemented a transparent monitoring system that creates trust in and by all involved stakeholders
  • We have won additional supporters, whose contributions allow us to continue our work, balancing different interests, drive applied research and charge all available opportunities
  • We have found additional commercial partners, who are willing to work with us on the sustainable production and sale of timber and agricultural products
  • Last but not least, we have identified commercial investors who want to use their capital to seriously conduct “Forest Landscape Restoration” while keeping their own profit in mind, with environmental and social returns supplementing the financial returns.

Join us now and become a part of the story!

Contact Person

Panduh Tukat

Insights into our Work

Image Gallery

Donations

Help protecting the rainforest and strengthen local smallholders with your donation. With only 1€, one additional tree can be planted. Your input matters!

News

Sponsors of the 1m Trees Program

Additional supporters can be found HERE.

Verfolgen Sie den Fortschritt im 1 Million Trees Programm

Entdecken Sie das 1 Million Trees Programm über unsere interaktive Karte:

Borneo ist die größte indonesische Insel und die drittgrößte Insel der Welt. Indonesien teilt sie sich mit Malaysia und Brunei, hat jedoch mit 70 Prozent den größten Flächenanteil, der Kalimantan genannt wird. Kalimantan gliedert sich in fünf Provinzen, die größte ist unsere Programmregion Zentralkalimantan.

Der Lebens- und Kulturraum in Borneo ist hauptsächlich von illegaler Abholzung, Goldsuchern und einer Ausweitung der Monokultur-Plantagen wie Palmöl bedroht. Gemeinsam mit der lokalen Bevölkerung möchten wir dies stoppen.

Programminformationen

In den ländlichen Regionen in Zentralkalimantan sind große Teile des Regenwaldes bereits abgeholzt. Der verbleibende Regenwald steht durch das Bevölkerungswachstum, den legalen und illegalen Holzeinschlag sowie die Ausbreitung von riesigen Palmölplantagen extrem unter Druck. Viele abgeholzte Flächen sind stark degradiert, da die dünne Schicht fruchtbarer Erde aufgrund von Erosion und fehlender natürlicher Düngung verschwunden ist. Davon ist besonders die Landbevölkerung betroffen, die traditionell ihren Lebensunterhalt durch Waldwirtschaft, die Nutzung kleiner Flächen mittels Brandrodung und den begrenzten Verkauf von Gummi und anderen Marktgütern aus dem Regenwald erwirtschaftet. Nur durch die nachhaltige und naturnahe Wiederherstellung von unfruchtbaren Flächen helfen wir lokalen Gemeinschaften, ihre Lebensgrundlage zu verbessern.

Wir machen beispielhaft 1.000 Hektar abgeholzter und stark degradierter Flächen in Zentralkalimantan fruchtbar und forsten diese in ökologisch gemischten Systemen wieder auf. Der Fachausdruck dafür lautet „Forest Landscape Restoration“. Unser Ziel dabei ist es, eine naturnahe Art der Landnutzung zu finden, die Vorteile für die Menschen vor Ort, die Umwelt und das Klima hat. Wir arbeiten mit Kleinbauern zusammen, trainieren und unterstützen sie dabei, eine Mischung aus schnellwachsenden Nutzhölzern und Lebensmitteln anzubauen. Beim Aufbau der Kapazitäten der Bauern sind wir auch bedacht, Geschlechtergerechtigkeit zu gewährleisten. Da die Bauern auf diesen 1.000 Hektar insgesamt eine Million Bäume pflanzen werden, haben wir unser Programm 1m Trees (One Million Trees) genannt. Wir haben uns das Ziel gesetzt, im Laufe des Programms ein Beispiel für gelungene „Forest Landscape Restoration“ zu setzten und Techniken sowie ökonomische Modelle zu entwickeln, die es uns und anderen erlauben, degradierte Flächen großflächig zu restaurieren.

Als international arbeitende Organisation stellen wir unsere Projekte in den Rahmen der Ziele, die sich die internationale Gemeinschaft in Bezug auf menschliche Entwicklung, Klimaschutz und Aufforstung gesetzt hat. Unser Programm leistet einen starken Beitrag zu den Sustainable Development Goals der Vereinten Nationen (SDGs), insbesondere Ziel 1 (Armutsreduktion) und Ziel 15 (Nachhaltige Forstwirtschaft). 1m Trees zeigt darüber hinaus auf, wie „Forest Landscape Restoration“ in der Praxis aussehen kann: wir schaffen ein nachhaltiges Einkommen für die lokale Bevölkerung und schützen gleichzeitig die Umwelt und das Klima. So helfen wir, die Zusagen der Staatengemeinschaft in der Bonn Challenge, bis 2020 150 Millionen Hektar Wald aufzuforsten, gemeinsam mit den Behörden in Indonesien mit Leben zu füllen. Auch der im April verabschiedete strategische Plan für Wälder der Vereinten Nationen mit dem Ziel eines nachhaltigen Umgangs mit Wäldern weltweit, dient uns hierbei als Ansporn und Bezugsrahmen.

  • Forest Landscape Restoration

Wir unterstützen Bauern dabei, ehemalige Waldflächen die heute brachliegen, wieder aufzuforsten. Die Bauern können an Trainings teilnehmen und bekommen Setzlinge zur Verfügung gestellt, um so genannte gemischte Agroforstsysteme anzulegen. Dabei handelt es sich um eine Kombination von schnellwachsenden Nutzhölzern (zum Beispiel Sengon), Obstbäumen und Nahrungsmitteln wie Kassava, Erdnüsse oder Gemüse. Durch die sorgfältige Auswahl der Pflanzen, intensive Feldtests und Verwendung von Kompost ist es möglich, auch besonders unfruchtbare Flächen ohne den Einsatz von Kunstdünger zu bepflanzen. Durch die Bepflanzung wird die Erosion aufgehalten, Wasser- und Nährstoffkreisläufe wiederhergestellt und der Klimawandel bekämpft, da die wachsenden Bäume Kohlenstoff aus der Luft aufnehmen und somit unschädlich machen. Gleichzeitig können die Bauern Lebensmittel für den Eigenbedarf sowie Holz und andere Produkte für den Verkauf produzieren und ihre Lebensbedingungen verbessern.

  • Wertschöpfungskettenansatz

Bei der Zusammenarbeit mit Bauern in Zentralkalimantan befinden wir uns ganz am Anfang der Wertschöpfungskette Holz. Wir unterstützen den Anbau von schnellwachsenden Leichthölzern, die heute in vielen Bereichen anstelle von Harthölzern aus dem Naturwald verwendet werden. So verringern wir den Druck auf bestehende Naturwälder. Gleichzeitig fördern wir auch die holzverarbeitende Industrie in Indonesien, neue Produkte aus Leichtholz zu entwickeln und diese in Indonesien, aber auch international zu vertreiben. So stellen wir sicher, dass die Bauern in Kalimantan stets einen Käufer finden und unterstützen die indonesische Holzindustrie in ihrer Transformation zu nachhaltigen Wirtschaftsweisen. Europäische Importeure und Händler begleiten das Programm bisher und ermöglichen durch ihre Unterstützung, dass für jeden Baum, der in hiesigen verkauften Produkten steckt, ein neuer Baum vor Ort in unserem Programm angepflanzt wird. Damit schließt sich der Kreislauf und wir schaffen ein gelungenes Beispiel für eine moderne, nachhaltige Wertschöpfungskette.

  • Digitalisierung und Monitoring

Seit Beginn des Programms ist es uns wichtig, transparent zu arbeiten und genau zu verstehen, was unsere Arbeit bewirkt. Daher haben wir seitdem viel Wert auf Monitoring gelegt und Wachstumsdaten der Bäume unter verschiedenen Bedingungen gesammelt und genau dokumentiert, wo die Bäume gepflanzt werden. Somit verbessern wir Jahr um Jahr unser Verständnis für die Zusammenhänge zwischen Boden, Klima und Pflanzkombinationen. Ein Ergebnis dieser Arbeit ist unsere Webkarte (siehe oben). Momentan arbeiten wir daran, das Monitoring komplett zu digitalisieren. Zukünftig sollen die Kleinbauern das Wachstum der Bäume und den Wertzuwachs ihrer Flächen digital genau erfassen können. Auf dieser Basis stärken wir alle Akteure in der Wertschöpfungskette, schaffen eine solide Datengrundlage für Zertifizierungen und öffentliche und private Investments in den Bereichen Aufforstung und Landwirtschaft und bringen Käufer und Verkäufer von Holz zusammen.

Bis 2018 werden wir vor Ort eine Million Bäume gepflanzt haben. Bis dahin können wir nachweisen, dass unsere ökonomischen Anreizsysteme funktionieren und unsere Pflanzkombinationen waldbaulich funktionieren. Die nächste Herausforderung ist dann die großflächige Skalierung unserer Konzepte.

Ab 2019 werden wir uns ein neues Ziel setzen: 100 Millionen Bäume. Wir sind uns bewusst, dass eine so großflächige Skalierung eine Herausforderung werden wird. Wir glauben aber auch, dass es möglich ist, wenn die folgenden Voraussetzungen erfüllt sind:

  • Wir haben ein transparentes Monitoringsystem entworfen und umgesetzt, das Vertrauen bei allen Beteiligten schafft
  • Wir haben weitere Unterstützer gewonnen, die es uns mit ihren Spenden erlauben, die unterschiedlichen Interessengruppen zusammenzubringen, angewandte Forschung zu betreiben und mutig alle Opportunitäten, die sich ergeben, zu nutzen
  • Wir haben weitere kommerzielle Partner gefunden, die mit uns gemeinsam an der nachhaltigen Produktion von Holz und landwirtschaftlichen Produkten arbeiten und deren Absatz sicherstellen
  • Wir haben zuletzt auch kommerzielle Investoren identifiziert, die ihr Kapital nutzen wollen, um ernsthaft „Forest Landscape Restoration“ zu betreiben, ohne ihre eigenen Gewinne aus den Augen zu verlieren

Machen Sie sich heute mit uns auf den Weg!

Ansprechpartner

Panduh Tukat

Einblicke in unsere Arbeit

Bildergalerie

Spenden

Schützen Sie den Regenwald und stärken Sie die Bevölkerung vor Ort mit Ihrer Spende. Bereits mit 1€ kann 1 neuer Baum gepflanzt werden. Helfen Sie mit!

Aktuelles

Sponsoren des 1m Trees Programms

Zusätzliche Unterstützer finden Sie HIER.