First training for our cocoa farmers

In April the first big cocoa training took place in our Fairventures field office in Tumbang Talaken, Gunung Mas in Indonesia. In order to expand our cocoa project, farmers are trained to become trainers who will pass on their knowledge about cocoa cultivation to other farmers as multipliers in the future.

Last year, more than 1,400 seedlings were distributed to eleven local farmers. Four different cocoa varieties were selected, all of which have good characteristics for sustainable cultivation in the project area.

In the course of this year 4,500 seedlings will be planted. This expansion of our cocoa programme results in a great need for new skills and knowledge. During the training, some practical know-how about the cultivation of cocoa was acquired. The trainer Pak Lengkang from Sulawesi, who brings in more than 20 years of cocoa experience, was able to impart a lot of knowledge to our multipliers. The aim was to discuss numerous topics related to cocoa cultivation and to practice directly in the tree nursery and in the field. The focus was on running nurseries and growing seedlings, refining cocoa through fermentation, soil care and fertilisation. Possible dangers for cocoa plants caused by pests and diseases were also discussed.

Share this Post!

About the Author : Sina Riethmüller

Erstes Training für unsere neuen Kakaobauern

Im April fand in unserem Fairventures-Büro in Tumbang Talaken, Gunung Mas in Indonesien das erste große Kakao-Training statt. Zur Ausweitung unseres Kakaoprojekts werden Bauern zu Trainern ausgebildet, die ihr Wissen über Kakaoanbau in Zukunft als Multiplikatoren an andere Bauern weitergeben.

Bereits im letzten Jahr wurden mehr als 1400 Setzlinge an elf lokale Bauern verteilt. Es wurden vier verschiedene Kakaosorten ausgewählt, die alle gute Eigenschaften mitbringen, um im Projektgebiet als Kulturpflanzen nachhaltig angebaut zu werden.

Im Laufe dieses Jahres werden bereits 4.500 Setzlinge ausgepflanzt. Diese Erweiterung unseres Kakaoprogramms bringt auch einen großen Bedarf an neuem Wissen mit sich. So wurde während der Trainingswoche einiges an praktischem Knowhow über den Anbau von Kakao erarbeitet. Der erfahrene Trainer Pak Lengkang aus Sulawesi mit mehr als 20 Jahren Kakao-Erfahrung konnte den neuen Multiplikatoren viel Wissen vermitteln. Es galt zahlreiche Themen rund um den Kakaoanbau zu diskutieren und dabei auch direkt in der Baumschule und auf dem Feld zu üben. Schwerpunkte waren der Baumschulbetrieb und die Aufzucht der Setzlinge, Veredelung des Kakaos durch Fermentation, Bodenpflege und Düngung. Auch mögliche Gefahren für die Kakaopflanzen durch Schädlinge und Krankheiten wurden diskutiert.

Share this Post!

About the Author : Sina Riethmüller