Uganda

Agroforestry & Vocational Training

Project Description

According to the FAO, about 15.2 % (ca. 2,988,000 hectares) of land in Uganda are forested, of which are about 51,000 hectares a result of reforestation. From 1990 to 2010, Uganda lost on average about 1.86 % (88.150 hectares) of forest cover per annum, which is equivalent to a net forest degradation of 37.1 % (1,763,000 hectares).
Consequently, current tendencies of environmental degradation constitute a serious risk with regards to the economic situation and in some areas could even threaten already achieved social, economic and environmental development results. Apart from poverty alleviation and environmental conservation, addressing deforestation within this context eventually also contributes to the reduction of causes of forced migration.

The project seeks to establish a curriculum for environmental training with a focus on afforestation, reforestation, and agroforestry at two technical vocational training centers in Western Uganda. Through this intervention, students in technical training receive access to a complementary education with the particular purpose of facilitating practical and theoretical skills and knowledge about environmental degradation and its consequences. Emphasis is given on the skills necessary to undertake activities directed at small scale afforestation, reforestation, and agroforestry in combination with the accessibility of related income opportunities. The project aims to raise awareness and train how to protect the environment based on the opportunity of economic incentives.

All activities undertaken are integrated into the framework of the Skilling Uganda Strategy (SSU) jointly implemented by BTC and the Ugandan Ministry of Education, Science, Technology, and Sports. Project ownership are primarily taking the two training centers, Kasese Youth Polytechnic, and St. Simon Peter’s Vocational Training Center. The activities are designed to serve as a pilot with the purpose of testing and developing concepts of afforestation, and reforestation for Uganda as a whole.

Project Duration

01/2017 – 12/2017

Overall Budget

25.000,- €

Project Partner

  • Kasese Youth Polytechnic, Kasese Municipality, Uganda
  • Simon Peter’s Vocational Training Centre, Hoima Municipality, Uganda
  • BTC Uganda, SSU Project, Fort Portal, Uganda

Funded by

Uganda

Agroforstwirtschaft in der Berufsbildung

Projektbeschreibung

Nach Angaben der FAO ist etwa 15,2 % (ca. 2.988.000 Hektar) der Fläche Ugandas bewaldet. Der Anteil an wiederaufgeforsteten Flächen beträgt 51.000 Hektar. Von 1990 bis 2010 sind durchschnittlich pro Jahr 1,86 % (88,150 Hektar) an Wald in Uganda verloren gegangen. Dies entspricht einer Netto-Degradierung von 37.1 % (1.763.000 Hektar).
Diese starke Tendenz der Umweltdegradierung stellt ein erhebliches Risiko für die wirtschaftliche Existenz insbesondere der ländlichen Bevölkerung dar. Teilweise könnten entsprechende Entwicklungen sogar bereits erreichte Ergebnisse in den Bereichen Umwelt, Soziales, und Wirtschaft zunichtemachen. Die Adressierung von Entwaldung trägt in einem solchen Kontext neben Armutsreduzierung und Umweltschutz auch zur Linderung von Ursachen der Zwangsmigration bei.

Im Rahmen des Projektes wird ein Curriculum im Bereich Umwelttraining an zwei technischen Berufsschulen in Westuganda entwickelt und umgesetzt. Ein spezieller Fokus wird dabei auf (Wieder-)Aufforstung gelegt. Durch die Projektaktivitäten wird Schülerinnen und Schülern in technischen Ausbildungen eine komplementäre Bildung ermöglicht, mit dem speziellen Zweck der praktischen und theoretischen Vermittlung von Kenntnissen im Bereich des Umweltschutzes. Besonders hervorzuheben ist dabei die Kombination von praktischen Fähigkeiten zur Aufforstung und dem Zugang zu daraus resultierend Möglichkeiten der Einkommenserwirtschaftung im kleinen Maßstab. Projektziel ist die lokale Stärkung des Bewusstseins für Umweltschutz basierend auf wirtschaftlichen Anreizen.

Sämtliche Projektaktivitäten sind in die des Unterstützungsprogramms der ‘Skilling Uganda Strategy’ (SSU) integriert, welches gemeinsam von der BTC und dem ugandischen Ministerium für Bildung, Wissenschaft, Technologie, und Sport umgesetzt wird. Die Umsetzung des Projektes liegt primär bei den beiden beruflichen Schulen, der Kasese Youth Polytechnic, und dem St. Simon Peter’s Vocational Training Centre. Die Aktivitäten sind als Pilot geplant und dienen dem Zweck der Testung und Entwicklung von Konzepten im Bereich der Aufforstung für ganz Uganda.

Projektlaufzeit

01/2017 – 12/2017

Finanzierungsvolumen

25.000,- €

Projektpartner

  • Kasese Youth Polytechnic, Stadtbezirk Kasese, Uganda
  • Simon Peter’s Vocational Training Centre, Stadtbezirk Hoima, Uganda
  • BTC Uganda, SSU Project, Fort Portal, Uganda

Förderer des Projektes